Technicolor™ Dream Drake

Lore24 Week 8

This week I am once again leaning on my Lore24 Quick d20 Table to take off the burden of thinking of a prompt everyday for my Lore24 work on Sablevine. Most days I will roll a d20 and use that as a launching point for a prompt. If I start an entry off with a number, that was my roll.

This week I felt stymied by last week's factional work until an old idea for a faction of knights from the moon took inspirational root. And Dwarves remain my favorite over the Elves. They'll get their time soon enough.

Week 8

Day 46

Taking the day off for a holiday with the family.


Day 47

Finishing faction work, at least the bare sketch of who's who in the region, from last week. And then letting it stew. I feel like there are still a few factions and mini-factions that want to be written.

I recently read Dungeonfruit's Making Good Factions and it gave me a few ideas1 on how to tweak my Faction template which I will end up using this week.


Day 48

Bringing forward a 10 from last week: new quest or hook for a random character.

Meet Sir Amcoed of the Empyrean Knights.


Day 49

Bringing forward a 16 from last week: a hook, quest, or situation for a random Faction.

The Empyreans have a crisis of leadership brewing. The requests from the Bronze Oak are stranger than in any of the previous ages of the Order. Sir Amcoed thinks he can solve it, but will not openly break rank in their Knightly Order bordering on Religious Order. And certainly not to who he perceives as an outsider.

Anyway, how are these lunar knights constructing an army? And what is the Exarch going to do with it? I have a vague idea, but I'm not sure yet where to place the focus of their desire.


Day 50

11: new, gameable cultural flavor.

I added a couple of rumors about how a Dwarven Runesmith could craft an enchanted item or weapon with enough Runestones.


Day 51

18: New Magick.

Let's say the town of Bannora has a now-defunct runework that could be repaired to the boon of the town. This would give an enterprising party the chance to explore and adventure to recover something that would improve the town! Who doesn't like that? The improvement should also directly or indirectly benefit any PCs. This is definitely a WIP.


Day 52

5: New Faction.

I feel a little stuck with the "main" factions for Sablevine--they need a little more time in the cooker, they're not grabbing me at the moment-- but there is a minor faction that is lodged in my head.

Meet the Empyrean Knights (or, the Lunate Order of the Bronze Oak). They mostly live and operate from the largest moon Gralun. They will act as a secretive faction that both seeks and hoards knowledge from the earliest days of the order and of the Divine Empire. They will occasionally be found in a conspicuous encounter but they also have undercover agents throughout Greater Sablevine.

This is also giving me ideas for a dungeon on the moon, one of their facilities which has been abandoned but which still harbors an important resource or tome. While this has been cooking I believe I have eeked out an NPC and a quest (see above).

All that being said I think in play I would obfuscate the fact that their hidden fortress is on a moon, and not merely sequestered in a mountain cave somewhere. This adds to the sense of exploration with this faction and doesn't set a Spelljammer tone right out of the gate.

Technicolor™ Dream Drake

Kay Rasmus Nielsen (1914)


Last edited 2 months, 3 weeks ago


Footnotes:

  1. namely aesthetics and how a faction leader maintains control.

#Lore24